Update on the Trucking Brief

A lot of new things are on the horizon for this blog and the Trucking Brief! I was sitting at a truck stop in Montana waiting for word on a back haul to Seattle and I found a great new piece of software that is going to revolutionize online publishing and blogging as we know it. Great new templates, editing features and very user friendly components. I won’t name the software or the host yet, but it will certainly change the look of this blog in the very near future.

In response to these new changes, I am looking for trucking and non-trucking individuals who either have blogs or have thought about having blogs and would like to write for the Trucking Brief! As of this post, details of compensation, etc. haven’t been worked out, but I am sure it will be set up on an advertising revenue percentage model. Basically, I am looking for individuals who would like to “invest” a little hard work and effort writing for the Trucking Brief in return for future revenues generated from the site. One great site that operates on this model is About.com. They have been doing it for years and have become quite successful in what they publish.

I am looking for writers for the following immediate subjects: Safety, Life on the Road, Truck Stop Reviews, Product Reviews, Load Broker Issues (John?), Rookie Driving Life, Rookie Driver Training, Million Mile Club, Drivers Health Issues, Truck Driver Careers, O/O Perspectives, Company Owner Corner, New Truck Reviews, Trucking Around the World, Legislative Issues, State Trucking Issues, Trucking Law, and many others I can’t list. If you have an idea, please submit it to me by leaving a comment on this post.

You do not have to be an expert writer, nor do you need a college degree to do this. I am looking for honest, hard working people who want to contribute to the trucking industry through their thoughts and opinions about the industry. I anticipate a working sample or unfinished site will be up and running within a couple of weeks. Please e-mail me at: truckingblog@gmail.com.

2 comments

  1. This is a great idea. Count me in. My brother and I were talking about bloggers and writers the other day.

    He has started a family blog – but here’s the sad part. There are only a few in the family who make the time and effort to write.

    My brother has been disheartened. All of our us in our family love each other. At least up until now.

    But I told my brother – it’s probably because many people don’t use a keyboard very much. It’s a real chore for them to peck out even a short comment.

    Now, my brother and I are extremely fluent with the keyboard. We’re addicts.

    But not all people have that zest to pound on the computer.

    Having said this – regardless of how well or how badly you use the keyboard – you have something valuable to contribute. You are a unique individual with unique experiences and thoughts. All of us are waiting.

    So, for you folks who enjoy reading blogs, etc. but never make a comment – give it a try. It gets easier and believe me, it will stimulate your mind like nothing else.

    I’ll be getting back to you Jim.

  2. Thanks for the kind words John. I am implementing a host of features on the new site. Although all of the features are not complete, you can get a sneak preview at truckingbrief.com/index.php. The default address without the index.php suffix, will redirect you to the Trucking Blog.

    Check back in a couple weeks and maybe I’ll have the site up and running.

    JB

Leave a Reply

