What Are We Doing Here?

As professional truck drivers, we recognize the fact that we have a lot of time to think, analyze and re-analyze the meaning of life, why things happen in our life, and just plain simply what are we doing here? What is our sole purpose of our being? Why did our life turn out the way it did? Why were we destined to be truck drivers? I could go on forever with thoughts and ideas that pass through my mind as the miles roll by.

The main question I ask myself all the time is “Why me God?”. Why did you place me on this earth to be a lonely truck driver? If it weren’t for my faith in God, I am not sure where I would be today. I have spent countless days and nights wondering, “What if?”. I am sure as a professional truck driver, we have all had these thoughts or conversations with ourselves. I recently thought, why am I still single, or should I say divorced after two failed marriages? I think as professional truck drivers we have a very difficult time finding the answers to our most difficult questions. We sit in the truck, day after day, putting ourselves down and having no one to build us up.

Fortunately, God is the only one who has all the answers to our most perplexing questions. Only God has the ability to quench our thirst for meaning to life and the trials and tribulations that come with it. There are things we can do to find God on the truck. Many truck stops across our nation have regular Sunday services, there are an abundant number of AM and FM radio stations that one can tune to, and there are a number of fellow truck drivers who are always willing to lend an ear in our time of need. The best thing you can do is get down on your knees in your truck and pray to God. Just ask Him you need help and you need Him in your life. That is all, just asking Jesus in your life is the best thing you can do! God will release the pain, anguish, loneliness and helplessness a lot of us on the road experience.

Please visit NeedHim.org for more information about solving life’s hardest questions and how to find God. Other resources include a listing of national Christian radio stations on the Calvary Satellite Network. CSN is primarily on AM radio, but can be picked up on FM on occasion in selected cities. CSN has daily bible teachings from pastors around the world and great Christian Worship music throughout the day. Check out the CSN radio listings by clicking on their link HERE. Another great resource for truckers is the Truckstop Ministries Website. They hold weekly services at many of our nations truck stops.

The other afternoon, I was having a self pity moment. I was wondering why God chose me to be a truck driver. I happened to be traveling over I90 about to cross Snoqualmie Pass in Western Washington. I noticed the lake near the summit was unusually calm, the mountains stood out like I have never seen before and the air was as crisp and cleaner than I’ve ever seen. God told me to “Be Still”, Mark 4:35-41 TNIV IBS. Of course I couldn’t just stop the truck, but I stopped my mind for a few minutes and reminded myself of His blessings. I thought, “This is God!”. What a simple thought, “This is God!”. God was reminding me of His awesome power, amazing grace and forgiveness for my imperfect self. God is good and He will never let us down. Your dispatcher may let you down, your driver manager may let you down, your wife may let you down, your kids might let you down, heck your dog might let you down, but God will never let you down!

2 comments

  1. If you are looking for a website that specializes in the safe interaction of trucks and all other vehicles on our roadways, then checkout safetrucking.org. This is the place to file a complaint, compliment, or nominate a trucker for hero status, plus industry news and many other things of interest coming soon.
    safetrucking.org

Leave a Reply

