Trucking vs. Wall Street

As OTR or regional truck drivers, we get to experience things that most people rarely get to do over their lifetime. On a recent trip to northern Nevada recently, I was blessed with three days of absolutely perfect weather, there were very few clouds and air quality was so clear you could see for miles. I got the chance to travel across I84 and up I15 in eastern Idaho. I was on my way to pick up a backhaul load in western Montana.

As I traveled up I15 from Idaho Falls, the beauty and scenery of the area near the Idaho / Montana Line was quite evident. I can’t tell you how many times I have been able to travel this route, but for some reason, God decided to show his glory and remind me of his awesome power. The mountains stood out as if to beg to be hiked, the water in the stream along the highway was quite clear and the smell of freshly cut alfalfa was ever present as I passed the miles of farm land along the way. I even got a chance to see a rare, Montana happening, a real cattle drive with real cowboys!

Why was God reminding me of his wonderful creation? Why was the water so clear and mountains standing out so prominently? I would wonder these questions while watching the miles pass by, analyzing life’s problems and complaining about the fast drivers on the highway. I remembered life is too short to always find fault with other drivers or why relationships don’t work out the way we would want them to. It was a time for me to take a break from life’s worries, it was time for me to thank my creator for the blessings he has given me. It was time to reflect on the good things in life and not worry about our problems for a change. Would I ever trade in my trucking job for a job on Wall Street? Probably not, probably not for a million dollars! I have accepted the path that God has given me and I am proud to be a great American truck driver serving my country!

One comment

  1. Every day I come across people who tell me how fascinated they are with the trucking industry. For these people, I believe, the trucking industry represents MORE than just moving cargo from point A to point B.

    It’s an opportunity to view, reflect and experience the vast wonders of the beautiful United States.

    I know trucking isn’t easy. But I wonder how many Wall Street guys envy you guys.

Leave a Reply

