Now I am “Stumped”!

It’s been a few days since my last post and I am really stumped at trucking companies who don’t reply to emails and fail to respond to employment questions about their companies. I have been sitting at home waiting for a phone call from my current company to go back to work for over a month now. Because the company has been having financial problems, I decided to venture out and check out a couple of different companies I have been eying for several months now. With all of the recent discussion of a “drivers shortage” and companies complaining that they were having a hard time finding drivers, I was surprised that I have had problems contacting the HR departments of a few companies. Did they close up shop because of lack of drivers? I don’t think that HR departments are closing shop because of lack of drivers. I wonder if the CEO’s of the trucking companies in question know that there are probably several dozen, if not hundred, emails and employment inquiries from qualified drivers going unanswered.

I ask John Christner of John Christner Trucking if his HR department has noticed my half-dozen or so emails I have sent over the past week. I see their advertisements all the time looking for qualified drivers. Do they have an over abundance of emails that they can’t respond to them? I would rather get an email that says that they are too busy to respond to my inquiry than none at all! I guess company loyalty, safe driving record and many thousands of miles over the past eight years doesn’t mean anything to a trucking company anymore.

As a driver, I don’t ask for much in return. I ask that I get paid, I get paid a decent wage, I operate a truck that is safe and will get me from point A to B, and I work for a company that respects it’s hard working drivers. Am I asking too much?

I read the “want ad’s” from Eastern Washington and North Idaho today for commercial drivers. The average starting wage for a commercial truck driver who has all of his or her endorsements, graduation from an accredited driving school and two years experience as a CDL driver is $10 per hour! Doesn’t that make you sick? $1400-$1600 dollars a month to drive a commercial truck! When housing rents and mortgage payments average over $1000 a month in those areas, how does a driver support his or her family?

As long as wages remain low and benefits remain non-existant for CDL drivers, I am sure there will always be a shortage of qualified drivers!

Leave a Reply

