Just so you know……..

In response to the last post I would like to make one point clear. The reason I got so upset at the comment of the driver who posted the comment was because he missed the entire point of the post. I was only pointing out that, yes, there are people out there driving 40 ton trucks with absolutely no commercial driver training or even a CDL license. The idiot who was still driving with 18 citations on his CDL should be banned from driving anything, in any state! I don’t want my family or friends out on the road with those drivers.

I respect the fellow CDL driver who works hard, follows the rules, keeps their loads legal and stays away from the ever present illegal substances that are on the road today. I don’t want a phone call in the middle of the night from the State Patrol saying that one of my family members or friends was killed by a irresponsible driver out on the freeway.

The more I drive, the more I am against raising the nationwide speed limit for any vehicle. I do think that the speeds should be the same for cars and trucks, but not raised. Not only is speed a safety issue, it also saves a large trucking company thousands upon thousands of dollars in fuel related expenses. Keeping the speed low also reduces our dependence on fossil fuels (oil).
4 comments

  1. You know, I like your blog. Sometimes, though, no matter how clear you or I may think we’ve stated an opinion; someone fails to get the point. When those folks respond with an unwarranted and misguided vengeance I’m reminded of the old saying: “its one thing to keep one’s mouth shut and be thought a fool but quite another to open it and, by doing so, remove all doubt.”

    I happen to agree with you about speed limits. I don’t like split speeds because I believe they contribute to an increase in the incidence of accidents between trucks and cars. I’m also not in favor of speed limits in excess of 65 mph for trucks, either.

    I once spoke with a CHP officer regarding his views concerning the disparity in California speed limits between trucks and cars. He agreed that these differences might have an impact on the number of accidents but, citing the equation e=mc2(energy = mass x velocity squared), he was more than a little reluctant to see the speed limit raised for vehicles that approach 40 tons. He felt that raising the limit for trucks would dramatically increase the severity of those accidents that did occur; and he wasn’t at all sure that the frequency would be reduced more than marginally.

    So, anyway, I’ve babbled on long enough. Keep up the good work.

  2. You know, I like your blog. Sometimes, though, no matter how clear you or I may think we’ve stated an opinion; someone fails to get the point. When those folks respond with an unwarranted and misguided vengeance I’m reminded of the old saying: “its one thing to keep one’s mouth shut and be thought a fool but quite another to open it and, by doing so, remove all doubt.”

    I happen to agree with you about speed limits. I don’t like split speeds because I believe they contribute to an increase in the incidence of accidents between trucks and cars. I’m also not in favor of speed limits in excess of 65 mph for trucks, either.

    I once spoke with a CHP officer regarding his views concerning the disparity in California speed limits between trucks and cars. He agreed that these differences might have an impact on the number of accidents but, citing the equation e=mc2(energy = mass x velocity squared), he was more than a little reluctant to see the speed limit raised for vehicles that approach 40 tons. He felt that raising the limit for trucks would dramatically increase the severity of those accidents that did occur; and he wasn’t at all sure that the frequency would be reduced more than marginally.

    So, anyway, I’ve babbled on long enough. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

