Strike Two for Pilot Travel Centers!

For the second time in a month, Pilot has managed to pull off another anti-customer stunt at one of their typical truck stops! I think it is time to call attention to Pilot Travel Centers apparent lack of customer service and/or inability to keep their loyal customers happy.

Over the last eight years, I estimate that I have fueled at a Pilot somewhere in the United States several hundred times. At an average fuel cost of $300. US dollars per fuel stop, I figure I have spent several thousand dollars for fuel at Pilot Travel Centers. From the first day on the road as a CDL driver, I have been extremely happy with the efficiency, cleanliness, friendliness and overall experience at Pilot. Lately customer service and friendliness have been lacking at several Pilot’s I have fueled.

The latest “incident” occurred at the Kramer Junction, California Pilot on Wednesday, December 20th. I entered the Pilot to get a shower, cash an EFS check and buy some shampoo. The cashier, whom had an id of “cashier 322”, asked me if I purchased fuel. I asked simply why she asked and the reply was that she would have to charge me to cash the EFS check. I mentioned I did indeed purchase fuel from “cashier 99” an hour earlier and that my receipt was in my truck. I showed her my frequent fuel card and asked her to check my receipt from the card. She said she could not do that and I had to get my receipt. I asked the cashier if she could ask the previous cashier to verify that I indeed did purchase fuel. The other cashier was on the phone and was indisposed wrapping hot dog buns behind the cashier counter. Thus I had to trek back across the parking lot for my fuel receipt. When I returned, the reception was not as pleasant as the first time I approached “cashier 322”. Her attitude was unforgiving, unpleasant and it seemed as if I was taking up too much her precious time. She willfully cashed my check and proceeded to ring up the shampoo and SHOWER that I was waiting for. She demanded $11.98 for the shower and shampoo! I asked why she was charging me for a shower and she said “I need a frequent fueler card in order for me not to charge you for a shower”. Remember, the card was in front of her on the counter the entire time. She swiped the card and the $9.00 charge was removed.

I did not get an apology, come again, thank you or any type of appreciation for my business! I have spent approximately $1,000. dollars for fuel this past week at a Pilot Travel Center. I am really getting tired of the $7.00 an hour attitude that I have been getting lately from the help at a few of the Pilot’s I have recently visited. I think Pilot should institute a “Customer Service” class for all new hires at ALL Pilot’s. Obviously, the type of people they seem to hire have never heard of the concept before.

I could call for a boycott of Pilot Travel Centers, or I could ask everyone who reads this to send a letter or make a phone call to Pilot. Would any of these measures work? I am not so sure they would. Instead, I would like to call on all readers of this blog to comment on the service they have been getting at Pilot Travel Centers, good or bad in the comment section of the blog. I am curious to see if others have had similar experiences or maybe it’s just my wild imagination.

Come on Pilot, jump on the Customer Service bandwagon! It’s the truckers who keep your travel centers in business, how about a little RESPECT!

JB

5 comments

  1. ** Truck Stop Alert **

    The Pilot Travel Center in Castaic, California has had some fuel pump problems in the past few days. I pulled into the Pilot to top off my refer tank last week and trucks were backed up to the main street. Out of a dozen or so pumps that usually operate, only about 6 were operational. After a 20 minute wait, I decided to take my business elsewhere.

    I have noticed over the past year or so that this Pilot is becoming very inconvenient to fuel. Because parking is limited, less than 50 spaces, many drivers feel the need to fuel, eat dinner and shower before moving off the fuel island.

    Until Pilot figures out a solution to this problem, I would suggest fueling at the Lost Hills Pilot, Palm Spring Pilot, Frazier Park Flying J, or the Lebec Petro.

  2. ** Truck Stop Alert **

    The Pilot Travel Center in Castaic, California has had some fuel pump problems in the past few days. I pulled into the Pilot to top off my refer tank last week and trucks were backed up to the main street. Out of a dozen or so pumps that usually operate, only about 6 were operational. After a 20 minute wait, I decided to take my business elsewhere.

    I have noticed over the past year or so that this Pilot is becoming very inconvenient to fuel. Because parking is limited, less than 50 spaces, many drivers feel the need to fuel, eat dinner and shower before moving off the fuel island.

    Until Pilot figures out a solution to this problem, I would suggest fueling at the Lost Hills Pilot, Palm Spring Pilot, Frazier Park Flying J, or the Lebec Petro.

  3. I myself worked for Williams Travel Center from 1/2000 till Pilot took over. After working for pilot I noticed the true lack of appreciation not only for the customers but for the employees as well. I worked for Pilot aproximately 3 yrs in which I was treted with total disrespect from management and fellow co workers. The only bright parts of my day was my customers. I am now done with Pilot. So I can appreciate where you are coming from.

  4. Hi i work for a pilot. and at least i try my best to satisfy the truck drivers and very rude people that come in. im sorry it was so rough for you. when i was reading your story and i believe that they have to charge for any checks. but i think its only a little bit. but always carry your recipts with you hun. oh do you have the rewards card? very good to have 🙂 but anyways just saying it just helps alot to carry a recipt with you at all times just in case. idk really how calli is but i think all people are rude there lol. im very nice when it comes to talking to people. sometimes i get very rude truck drivers in and they hurt my feelings alot but i hide behind my smile and save my feeling for when i get home. i just wish that some truck drivers would be more nicer to the nice customer service people. like me 🙂 i mean i know you guys drive and drive and drive but i would love to travel everywere and have my company pay for gas, food and pay me for driving. i know it has to be rough being away from your familys but its is rough for us (the nice ones) to get bitched at because rude drivers dont love their jobs. not trying to put you down. or saying you were wrong and im not talking about you. i just hate all the rude drivers. and somtimes i think they should retire cause they just seem miserable. but even if i made a mistake i always say im sorry and somtimes i say sorry too much lol. i am a very kind person i just wish alot of truck drivers would see that and use my kindness and have a smile on their face. but anyways i really hope your travel gets better. and i hope that when truck drivers come my way that they are nicer.

Leave a Reply

