Lower Fuel Prices? Part Two

I’ve been traveling in the Montana, Idaho and Washington area this week and I was quite surprised at the fuel prices in Montana. It would seem that states like Montana would have higher fuel pricess because of the location and accessability to the fuel stops. When I pulled into the Pilot in Great Falls, Montana this morning, I was expecting prices about the same or higher than those in Spokane, Washington. I was surprised to see the average fuel prices for diesel and other grades of fuel are about .20-.30 cents per gallon less! I still wonder why Eastern Washington has the highest prices for fuel in the nation! I think California fuel prices have come down below those of the Spokane area. I fueled two days ago in Spokane and the cash price for diesel was $2.699 per gallon. In Great Falls this morning, #2 diesel was $2.439 cents per gallon.

I thought maybe the fuel tax in Washington was higher, but why are prices in Seattle .20 cents per gallon cheaper than Spokane? I have asked several managers and clerks at the various places I stop why fuel is more expensive in Spokane. I still don’t have a definetive answer, but I will continue to pursue that question.

Another thing that I noticed was that Montana Pilot’s offer Bio-Diesel when available. This morning’s price for Bio-Diesel in Great Falls was $2.409 per gallon.

JB

Leave a Reply

