** Tribute to 09/11/2001 **

Good Evening!

First of all, on the eve of the first aniversary of 09/11/2001, I would like to take a moment of time to thank all the fine men and women who keep our country rolling and the store shelves stocked. Without the American Truck Driver, our country certainly would not be what it is today. Thank you fellow truck driver for a job well done!

We would also like to take time to thank the men and women who keep us safe during these trying times. From the firefighter, to the police officer, to the men and women who dress in our Country’s military uniform, we thank you! We thank you for risking your lives day in and day out to keep the United States safe.

And finally, we would like to remember the victims of 09/11/2001 and their families. We will always remember you and keep you in our prayers.

I am sure we can all remember where we were on that fateful day. I was working for a company out of Chattanooga, TN, driving on Interstate 80 in eastern Nebraska. My load of store shelving delivered later that morning in Sioux Falls, SD. Little did I know the events of the day or what was about to transpire. My daughter and dog were with me. We had just finished an 8 hour break at a rest area. I was watching the morning news and watched as Peter Jennings broke the news on ABC. I thought as if I were in a dream. My daughter was scared, I was scared and we didn’t know if we should stay put or continue on our trip. We stopped at the Petro and I once again looked for a tv. When I did find a tv, CNN had confirmed that this wasn’t a dream. I can remember my dispatcher telling me that it wasn’t a huge problem and ordered me to continue. I still am not sure if he had a clue at the time what was happening. Two months later, we were dispatched to NYC with a load of supplies and water. My daughter and I cried when we noticed that where the WTC stood, there was only a pile of rubble and smoldering ruins.

09/11/2001 has affected us all. We all have a story to share or a concern to raise. Every year, I wonder what if? We hope that it will never happen again, but what if? We, as truck drivers, need to stay strong, look ahead and complete our job. Our country, our families and our neighbors count on us. Remember those lost on 09/11/2001 and pray for the families and loved ones.

Thank you Lord for protecting us and keeping us from harm. Thank you Lord for remembering everyone affected by 09/11/2001. Lord, we lift our arms to you and pray for our forgiveness as a nation. Amen.

JB

Leave a Reply

